• Elementary & Intermediate School STAAR Info

    Specific STAAR information for Elementary & Intermediate Schools

    Click on Icon below To View Specific STAAR Info 

     Image Image Image Image Image



    STAAR™ will include the following 3-6 assessments:

    •    3rd grade Mathematics and Reading
    •    4th grade Mathematics, Reading and Writing
    •    5th grade Mathematics, Reading and Science
    •    6th grade Mathematics and Reading


    The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR™) will replace the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) starting in the 2011-2012 school year. STAAR™ will include assessments in the following grades and subjects at the elementary level:

    3rd – Mathematics & Reading (including English and Spanish versions)

    4th – Mathematics, Reading & Writing (including English & Spanish versions)

    5th – Mathematics, Reading & Science (including English & Spanish versions)
    6th - Mathemaatics & Reading ( Enghish version only)

    What’s different about STAAR™?
    STAAR will include more difficult testing methods and require a higher level of student performance. Assessments will increase in length at most grades and subjects. There will also be a four-hour time limit for the STAAR grades 3–8 assessments and the STAAR EOC assessments.

    For reading, greater emphasis is placed on critical analysis of passages rather than literal understanding. The grade 4 writing test requires more essays in both first-person and expository styles. On the science and mathematics tests, STAAR includes a type of open-ended question known as a griddable item. The purpose of griddable items is to allow students to develop answers independently without being influenced by answer choices provided with the questions (commonly known as multiple-choice). Most science and mathematics assessments include three to five griddable items. Illustrations of the test design for grades 3-8 are available at www.tea.state.tx.us/student.assessment/staar/.

    The Texas Education Agency released performance standards for STAAR at grades 3–8 in January 2013, after the first spring administration of STAAR. TEA has established a phase-in approach for STAAR performance standards that will increase over a four-year period.

    How does STAAR™ affect promotion to the next grade level?

    The Grade Advancement Testing requirement for grades 5 and 8 mandates students pass the STAAR math and reading tests in order to be promoted to the next grade level. Students will be given up to three opportunities to pass each test.